Writing prompt 27

How the Amazing Support of Strangers Pulled Me Back from the Edge When I Was Losing Hope

When all you want is for your children to be happy.

T Mann
4 min readMar 7, 2023

--

Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

Christmas was coming fast, too fast for my measly budget. All the familiar traditions my children and I had come to love were hanging by a thin strand of garland as life had rudely upended us over the past year. Last year was our final Christmas season as a family of four.

We always celebrated the Christmas season with every imaginable tradition and custom. From listening to Andy Williams and Mariah Carey to baking too many goodies and hosting parties, watching all the classic movies, and everything in between, we went all in on Christmas.

A young girl in a Christmas store with goggles on her eyes that have red and black plaid reindeer antlers attached.
My child lives for Christmas! Photo by author

My husband and I went our separate ways shortly after that last holiday, and my girls and I had to move on. As a homeschooling family, we lived primarily on one income. In the last few years of our marriage, as our kids were growing up, I had only recently returned to work, and the breakup was financially crushing.

--

--

T Mann

Writer, wife, mom, nana, and🍷 lover sharing life lessons and adventures of Self-improvement /Advice/ Relationships/ and more, one story at a time.